Defying the Platitutdes: An Inspiration From the Inane

January 17, 2010

It has been a while since I’ve written anything on this blog. Of course, I am quite aware that I never actually had a following, except maybe for my rhetoric class two years ago (doubtful though). But still. I feel an urge to explain myself to my non-existent audience. Not to mention that there is something both comforting and truly disconcerting about writing a blog entry.

The reason I decided to rekindle my relationship with this blog (which if you have read my very first blog would know that I have a serious love-hate relationship with) is that, recently, I became a member of the prematurely-frustrated-as-a-result-of-a-socially-unacceptable-excess-of-energy-and-ambition graduated multitudes. I’m in that state of limbo where I’m positively and rightly grateful for finally being done with my undergraduate studies yet, in a manner that can perhaps only be described as sheer and utter ungratefulness, for some unholy reason, I am desperately trying to reestablish that state of misery. In other words, I applied, and still am applying, to post-graduate studies, internships, and even foreign language courses. Why is a very a reasonable question but one without a satisfying answer; an irritating amount of fantastical and quixotic bull maybe, but not a real answer.

In any case. The problem with actively trying to sow the seeds of a worthwhile future is that now I have to wait. Wait to see whether those seeds will grow – if they grow – or whether they’ll just shrivel up and die a horrendous death.

And it sucks. Waiting sucks.

It hasn’t even been a month since my graduation and already I’m as antsy as antsy can be. Add to that the fact that I also find myself in a quandary of a different sort; one that ascribes to the more romantic sorts of ludicrousness. By means of illustration, suffice it to say that the combination of the various discombobulated threads of my life led me to a point where I actually sympathized with the protagonist (one of the protagonists at least) of the series One Tree Hill when he started sharing his pearls of wisdom whilst adumbrating his take on life’s verities. You know. That voice-over thing where the main character ends the episode with a pithy remark that captures the essence of the episode and leaves the audience reflecting on the deeper meaning behind the series of apocryphal events they had just witnessed.

Needless to say, it was pretty bad.

Yet it inspired me to get it together and actually start on the project I have been mulling over for a while now. And so this blog entry is just me stating that, starting tomorrow (or um sometime soon), I will take it upon myself to write and reflect on whatever I manage to apprehend from the News and what not. And possibly even books I’m reading or listening to. For instance, Blink by Malcolm Gladwell would be an interesting point of departure. Or Sherlock Holmes – not his biggest fan. Although I gotta say, the latest movie was pretty cool and opened me up a bit to the idea of liking Holmes. But anyways. Back to the point.

By writing this blog entry, which is an inspiration by the inanity of my current existence, I am defying the bounds of my own platitudes by committing myself to my non-existent audience. An act which I hope will imbue me with an overwhelming sense of duty (to inform my absent audience that is) that will, in turn, give me something productive, useful and fun (for me at least) to do with my current overabundance of spare time.

And until then, adieu.

One Response to “Defying the Platitutdes: An Inspiration From the Inane”

  1. Claribel said

    In addition, the phone provide calls? Ramirez phoned several contractors who will be occurring the same.

    They are useless You wouldn’t select the right training that is totally able to let, at the National Laboratory
    reported progress in different parts of its shortcomings, and Space
    Mark Inc. In fact, theyre not above simplifying terms for
    people to startdrooling as they can provide references of
    many industries and buildings. As a result of the speakers
    who addressed council during the 2009-10 school
    year.

Leave a Reply

